Lois Curfman McInnes | Argonne National Laboratory | Scientific software ecosystems and communities: Why we need them and how each of us can help them thrive


Friday, April 8, 2022, 1:00pm to 2:00pm



Lois Curfman McInnes

Argonne Distinguished Fellow
Senior Computational Scientist
Deputy Director of Software Technology, DOE Exascale Computing Project
Argonne National Laboratory

Register here: https://tinyurl.com/yc6sc7ud

Abstract: Software is a cornerstone of long-term collaboration and scientific progress, but software complexity is increasing due to disruptive changes in computer architectures and the challenges of next-generation science. Thus, the high-performance computing (HPC) community has the unique opportunity to fundamentally change how scientific software is designed, developed, and sustained—embracing community collaboration toward scientific software ecosystems, while fostering a diverse HPC workforce who embody a broad range of skills and perspectives. This presentation will introduce work in the U.S. Exascale Computing Project, where a varied suite of scientific applications builds on programming models and runtimes, math libraries, data and visualization packages, and development tools that comprise the Extreme-scale Scientific Software Stack (E4S). The presentation will introduce crosscutting strategies that are increasing developer productivity and software sustainability, thereby mitigating technical risks by building a firmer foundation for reproducible, sustainable science. The presentation will also mention complementary community efforts and opportunities for involvement.

Bio: Dr. McInnes' research focuses on high-performance computational science, with emphasis on scalable numerical libraries and community collaboration toward productive and sustainable software ecosystems. She co-leads the IDEAS scientific software productivity project, which focuses on improving software productivity and sustainability as a key aspect of advancing scientific productivity.  Lois is a SIAM Fellow and serves on SIAM Council; she serves as Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Supercomputing (2022-2023).  She received the 2015 SIAM/ACM Prize in Computational Science & Engineering and a 2009 R&D 100 Award (with collaborators on the PETSc library); she also received the E.O. Lawrence Award in 2011 for outstanding contributions in R&D supporting the US Department of Energy.