IACS Advisory Board


The IACS advisory board consists of faculty, researchers, and professionals committed to training the next generation of computational scientists by advancing the study of computational and data science at Harvard. As IACS continues to assess and refine the academic programs and the curriculum of the master's programs, these experts provide valuable guidance based on their work at the forefront of this fast-growing field or their engagement in using and promoting computational tools in various path-breaking applications. IACS is committed to responding to the needs of industry and other stakeholders as we evaluate and refine the programs to stay in step with workforce needs and changing directions in the field.

External Members

Susan Avery Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
David Bear Goldman Sachs
Alan Bishop Los Alamos National Laboratory
Joshua Boger Alkeus Pharmaceuticals
Christian Borgs Microsoft Research New England
Mark Borowsky Novartis
David Brown Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Jennifer Chayes Microsoft Research New England
George Colony Forrester Research
John R. Dowdle Draper Laboratory
David Gilmour Blyth Capital Partners
Bernadette Johnson MIT Lincoln Laboratory
David Luebke NVIDIA
Sébastien Matringe  Newfield Exploration
Jim McLean Crosslink Capital
Cherry Murray U.S. Department of Energy
Michael Papka Argonne National Laboratory
Bonnie Ray IBM
Rosalind Reid Council for the Advancement of Science Writing
Sadasivan Shankar Intel
Fred Streitz Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Rita Tavilla VMware
Nora Tgavalekos Raytheon
Fernanda Viegas Google
Christopher Yu Draper Laboratory



SEAS Faculty

Name Area
Katia Bertoldi Materials Science and Mechanical Engineering
Michael Brenner Applied Mathematics
Finale Doshi-Velez Computer Science
Fawwaz Habbal Executive Dean; Applied Physics
Stratos Idreos Computer Science
Efthimios Kaxiras IACS Director; Applied Physics
Eddie Kohler Computer Science
Zhiming Kuang Environmental Science and Engineering; FAS/Earth and Planetary Science
H.T. Kung Computer Science
Susan Murphy Computer Science; Statistics
David Parkes Computer Science
Hanspeter Pfister Computer Science
Chris Rycroft Applied Mathematics
Yaron Singer Computer Science
Salil Vadhan Computer Science


Harvard Faculty 

Name School/Department
Joe Blitzstein FAS/Statistics
Douglas Finkbeiner FAS/Astronomy and Physics
Bruce Fischl Harvard Medical School/Radiology
Mark Glickman FAS/Statistics
Gary King FAS/Statistics; Institute for Quantitative Social Science
Jeffrey Lichtman FAS/Molecular and Cellular Biology
Brendan Meade FAS/Earth and Planetary Sciences
Natesh Pillai FAS/Statistics
Jeffrey Schnapp Graduate School of Design; Berkman Center for Internet & Society
Neil Shephard FAS/Statistics and Economics
Latanya Sweeney FAS/Government; Institute for Quantitative Social Science
Christopher Winship Government; Institute for Quantitative Social Science